Category: How do I do X?
Updated

This solution is summarized from an archived support forum post. This information may have changed. If you notice an error, please let us know in Discord.

Update one Database-Collection based und values in another collection

Issue

Hi, I am new to Appsmith and JS. I have created an app that reads data from MongoDB and updates it. Now I need to update the "occupied" flags of the "workplaces" collection based on the selection made in the "students" collection. I have a query that collects the unoccupied workplaces, but I am struggling to update the flags based on the selected workplaces. I also have issues with a dropdown-select input changing to a number or text input randomly. I am also facing performance issues with accessing data fields in MongoDB objects. How can I directly access one field in a MongoDB object using its ObjectId? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Resolution

In summary, the user Marius was having issues with updating the occupied-flags of the Workplaces-collection in their Appsmith and JS application based on the selection in the Students-Collection. They were able to query for the selection-dropown that collects only unoccupied-flagged workplaces but were lost on how to update the flags by means of the used workplaces in the Students table. A community member suggested using ‘All Matching Documents’ as Limit to update multiple records by using the $in operator to update a list of IDs.